Black Baguette Panzanella

Don’t you hate it when you get an idea for a recipe and you think you are being completely original, you are brimming with pride at having such an ingenious idea and then you realise that your mind pinched it without you realising? Well that happened to me in Paris.

I had been using Rachel Khoo’s list of favourite places while in Paris – I trust her (and I was right to) on her list was Boulangerie Gontran Cherrier in the 18th, recommended for their squid ink black baguette. While searching for it, I decided I wanted to use it to make Panzanella – a recipe I’d been wanting to add to the blog for ages. When I returned home from Paris (with the baguette) I realised I had stolen the idea directly from Rachel Khoo – who had posted a recipe for it at the beginning of August.

But that isn’t going to stop me from sharing this with you, my recipe differs and everything.

My version of the Italian salad is made with stale bread, tomatoes and onions, dressed with red wine vinegar. It’s a punchy little beast and not suitable for first dates.

Black Baguette Panzanella
serves 1

¼ of a stale baguette – cubed
2 handfuls of baby plum tomatoes – sliced
½ large red onion – finely sliced
a few torn up basil leaves
3 tbsp olive oil
3 tbsp red wine vinegar
pinch of sugar
seasoning to taste

Place the bread in a bowl and season, add half the olive oil and vinegar and place to one side.

In a separate bowl mix the onions, tomatoes, sugar and remaining red wine vinegar and leave for 10 minutes.

Mix in the rest of the olive oil, basil leaves and season to taste.

Arrange on a plate, top with the bread and scoff.

2 responses to “Black Baguette Panzanella

Leave a Reply

