The Quest for the BEST Brownies

Brownies were born (if folklore is to be believed) by way of a kitchen accident. The raising agent was forgotten and a dense fudgey sponge was born.

I love Brownies.

Like really love them.

I think if I had the metabolism to get away with it, I’d eat them for Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner and Dessert. Every. Single. Day. As long as there was cheese and wine too.

I have made many versions of the brownie. Peanut Butter, Mint Chocolate, S’Mores, Triple Chocolate but whenever I try a straight forward chocolate brownie they’ve never lived up to my expectations.

I asked Twitter who has the recipe for the perfect brownie and I was told by quite a few that Nigel Slater had the answer. He described them as like Glastonbury mud. There are few things I love more than a good chocolate brownie but Glastonbury mud has got to be up there.

The recipe didn’t fit my baking tray and ended up raising too much at the edges. I found them quite dry and fragile, they were delicious but they weren’t quite what I was looking for.

Nigel instructs to cream the butter with the sugar, a process that I have rarely seen in a Brownie – it’s usually melted butter. I found this made the batter quite sticky and difficult to work with. A melted butter recipe usually binds together really nicely and then pretty much slips out of the bowl. The other change I made was replacing the golden caster sugar with dark muscovado – to produce a caramel flavour. I was worried that this was too overpowering but when I tried them out on friends I was careful not to mention my concerns and no one picked up on it. In fact one of my friends said he doesn’t really like brownies but these were the best he had ever tasted.

I’m pretty convinced that I have produced the BEST brownies to my tastes, there is room for some fiddling but for now I am satisfied with these dark, fudgey & wanton brownies – I hope you enjoy them as much as me.

BEST Chocolate Brownies
makes 15 brownies 

280g dark muscovado sugar
230g butter – cubed
230g dark chocolate – roughly chopped
3 large eggs
40g plain flour
40g cocoa powder
¼ tsp baking powder
pinch of salt

  • Line a 32cm x 18cm baking tray
  • Preheat the oven to 170°c / 325°f / gas mark 3
  • Over a low heat melt together the butter, sugar and 170g of the chocolate – once melted, take off the heat and allow to cool for about 5 minutes.
  • In a large bowl, lightly beat the eggs together and mix in the melted chocolate mixture.
  • Add the flour, cocoa powder, baking powder & salt – fold until combined.
  • Fold the remaining 60g of chocolate into the mixture.
  • Pour into the prepared tin and smooth over the top.
  • Bake in the oven for 25 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean.
  • Leave in the tray to cool – then cut and munch.
6 responses to “The Quest for the BEST Brownies

  1. Ahhh Roswen I love brownies too! They are perfect to eat this time of year.
    I am so bad at making them though when it should be fairly easy. I just worry if I don’t let them cook enough they will be a gloop so I usually end up over cooking them! I will have to give these a go.

Leave a Reply

