Weight Watchers – Week 1 Challenge

To help keep the Blog Ambassadors on track, Weight Watchers are going to set us challenges each week. The challenge for the first week was to simply ‘Sort Your Fridge’ Using up leftovers, hiding the foods with high pro points values and blog a recipe from the leftovers.

023

Yes, I have a bit of an addiction to condiments!

Thankfully we weren’t at home for Christmas or New Years, so there wasn’t too much naughty food kicking about. The last of the Ginger Glazed Ham got used up with salads and my boyfriend selflessly removed the last slice of Banana Coconut Cream Pie for me!

Any cheese we have left is already hidden by the Eggs, thinking of finding an opaque Tupperware box for them.

I used up some sausages that were in an offer, by turning them into meatballs with some bashed up fennel seeds and serving with a basic spicy sauce and mashed butternut squash. Recipe to follow – it needs tweaking.

One of the salads I made for the Ham was a winter coleslaw with shredded beetroot, I turned the leftover beetroot into a Baked Risotto – recipe to follow later this week, it was seriously delicious (but very very very messy)

The last of the leftovers were 3 egg whites, left from making the custard that went into the pie. I’d seen some Nutella Meringues on Pinterest which I decided to have a whirl at and crunched the numbers on the Weight Watchers website and found they would be only 1 point each – perfect for a sweet pick me up.

Nutella Meringue

Nutella Meringues
makes 20 small meringues – 1pp each

60g Nutella
3 egg whites
¼ tsp cream of tartar
¼ tsp salt
60g Golden Caster Sugar

  • Preheat oven to 150°c / 300°f / gas mark 2
  • Line a baking tray with greaseproof paper
  • In a bowl over a pan of simmering water, gently heat the Nutella and set aside while you make the meringue.
  • You can make the meringue in stages if you prefer or you could do as Mary Berry would probably tell you to do it and bung all the ingredients (Egg whites, cream of tartar, salt & sugar) in a bowl and whisk until you have stiff, glossy peaks. Saves time & faff – I think the cream of tartar helps to stabilise the meringue.
  • Gently fold in the Nutella – you want to keep a swirl, so don’t over mix it. I think I gave it one too many folds :-(
  • I piped the meringue out onto a baking tray but if I made them again I think I would just dollop them.
  • Put them in the oven and bake for 10 minutes.
  • Turn the oven down to 100°c / 200°f / gas mark ½ and bake for a further hour.
  • At the end of the hour, turn the heat off but leave the meringues in there to cool. This keeps them chewy.
  • The meringues will last in an airtight container for a week.
3 responses to “Weight Watchers – Week 1 Challenge

  1. 1pp each? That sounds ideal for a sweet toothed bod on weight watchers of which I’m actually neither but can still appreciate this! ;-) Great blog. Good luck with WW xx

Leave a Reply

