Weight Watchers – Week 4 Challenge

Did you know that it’s not just our lack of willpower causing us to overeat? Science types are saying that our overloaded food environment is tempting us into unconscious food decisions daily. The new approach to Weight Watchers addresses this by having two new tools to aid us in our decisions – Places and Routines.

Places gives the tools to set up your environments to help achieve your weight-loss goals – there are tips on how to avoid the supermarkets teasing traps or how to prepare yourself for a long journey. It also helps you with the unexpected – like a lunch you hadn’t factored in or having trouble finding a healthy alternative at a family meal.

Routines is about making healthy choices second nature – things like eating breakfast everyday, planning your meals in advance or getting a good nights sleep.

With these tools in mind this weeks challenge was: A Day In The Life of You – show us how you make tracking, routines and places work for you.

So let me introduce you to Thursday… I’m afraid it’s not very exciting but it’s more typical than the rest of the week!

My morning started with a few hours of work and a spot of breakfast – Porridge made with half skimmed milk, half water, some banana and a tablespoon of maple syrup – 5pp

I managed to resist the urge to make myself a toasted cheese sandwich when my friend Muireann tweeted a peek inside her mind

A few chores later and off I skipped to Westfield to get myself lost in the aisles of Lakeland. I needed stuff to kill mould and moths – getting my spring cleaning off to an early start.

DLR to Westfield

DLR to Westfield – what’s left of the Warm-up venue!

Decided I deserved a treat for lunch, so popped into M&S on my way out. Armed with the Weight Watchers app, I checked products that were taking my fancy and came away with some prawns, an avocado and some fancy cherry tomatoes.

Back at home I sprayed the mould and while I waited for it to do its thing I made my lunch…

087

Prawn & Avocado Salad with a yogurt dressing
serves 1 – 7pp

small red onion – sliced
1 tbsp red wine vinegar
pinch of sugar
90g cooked prawns – 2pp
1/2 a medium avocado
peeled, cubed & a squeeze of lemon juice to stop it from discolouring – 4pp
handful of cherry tomatoes – sliced
handful of rocket

Dressing

2 tbsp fat-free yogurt
1/2 tbsp tomato ketchup
1/2 tsp Dijon mustard
1 tsp olive oil – 1pp
splash of tabasco
squeeze of lemon
dash of paprika
seasoning to taste
chives

  • In a small dish pour the red wine vinegar over the sliced red onions, add a pinch of sugar and put to one side.
  • In a different dish mix the yogurt, ketchup, Dijon, olive oil, tabasco, lemon, paprika & season to your own taste.
  • Add the prawns and coat them thoroughly.
  • To serve line a plate with the rocket, tomatoes & most of the red onion – add the dressed prawns, top with remaining onion & sprinkle with more paprika & some chives.
  • Eat!

I then washed the wall and sorted out a few of the kitchen cupboards before a couple of intensive work hours, where I said goodbye to the EMO detective and merged my MSN into my Skype. It was a sad moment.

EMO

I had an hour off between shifts so got dinner ready – Broccoli Lemon Chicken with Cashews & Brown Rice - 13pp 

037

Work finished at 10pm – watched a bit of telly, hung the Moth Killers in the wardrobe and tucked myself in bed with a Weight Watchers Hot Chocolate – 1pp 

and there you go – that was Thursday, all 26 pro points of her.

038

As always I will be uploading pictures of my meals & snacks to Instagram using the hashtag #wwfooddiary along with my fellow ambassadors.

Some of you may have watched Channel 4′s Dispatches on Monday night, you can read Weight Watchers response to this – here

WeightWatchersWorks

2 responses to “Weight Watchers – Week 4 Challenge

Leave a Reply

