Lemon Curd

So my blog is now a year old and in trying to think of something to write I got bogged down with all the depressing things that are going on around me and that’s not what this blog is for – so I will keep it short and sweet…

Yay One Year – Woo! Have a Lemon Curd recipe you lovely lovely people.

This recipe belongs to Delia and I can’t fault it – If I had known making Lemon Curd was this easy (I assumed it was one of those hard cheffy things like Hollandaise) then I would never have bothered buying the stuff.

Lemon Curd
makes 3 1lb (350ml) jars

4 Large Lemons – Grated Zest & Juice
4 Large Eggs
350g / 12 oz Golden Caster Sugar
225g /8 oz Unsalted Butter (At room temperature & cut into cubes)

3 Sterilised Jars

Start by lightly whisking the eggs in a medium pan, off the heat. Then add all of the ingredients and pop the saucepan on a medium heat.

Remember that you are dealing with Delia and trust her. Using a balloon whisk continuously whisk the mixture until it thickens. To begin with it looks like it will never come together but it does and then finally it starts to thicken. Delia said 7-8 minutes, but I swear I was whisking for at least 20 minutes, just think of the workout for your arms – No need for Jillian Michaels tonight!

Lower the heat to its lowest setting, carry on whisking for about a minute and then remove it from the heat.

Fill your jars as full as possible, seal them while hot and label them when cooled. They should be kept in a cool place and will last several weeks.

Gert Lush!

4 responses to “Lemon Curd

  1. Happy blog birthday! I haven’t had lemon curd since I was a kid!! I might have to give it a go, do you think lime curd would be nice? I have a butt loads of limes hanging around my house.

Leave a Reply

