Chilli Men Sauce

There is no getting away from it, Winter has HIT. We’ve been lulled into the belief that it was nearly Spring and then BAM it’s cold. Many of you will be reaching for your Stews and your Soups to keep you warm tonight but why not try this extra spicy sauce inspired by my favourite dish at Wagamama’s – Yasai Chilli Men.

Chilli Men Sauce

serves 2 generously

1 tbsp vegetable oil
2 stalks of lemongrass – chopped
thumb size piece of fresh ginger – grated
1 red chilli – chopped
1 onion – chopped
2 cloves of garlic – sliced
pinch of salt & sugar
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 red pepper – chopped
1 tbsp chinese chilli sauce
1 tbsp tomato ketchup
400g tinned tomatoes

Heat the oil in a large pan and add the lemongrass, ginger, chilli, onion, garlic, salt, sugar & soy sauce and gently fry for about 10 minutes.

Add the chopped pepper and cook for a further 10 minutes.

Add the chinese chilli sauce, ketchup and tinned tomatoes, bring to the boil and then simmer for 10 minutes.

Then it needs to be blended to a smooth sauce, I used a handheld blender but I made a lot of mess!

Once blended your sauce is ready.

I added mine to a stir fry of tofu, mushroom, red peppers, courgette, baby sweetcorn & sugar snap peas with rice noodles. But you could add to whatever you fancy, chicken, fish, prawns – just add the sauce in the final 5 minutes of stir frying.

My advice with Tofu is to leave it well alone, I love the taste but boy did it cause me hassles when I tried cooking it myself. I even have the burn marks on my arms to prove it! I initially fried it in the wok, but it got stuck and then disintegrated which made it look like scrambled egg. So with half a block of Tofu wasted I then fried the other half in a non-stick frying pan and added it to the stir fry just before adding the sauce.

The sauce has quite a kick but not quite as much as the sauce in the restaurants. I had tried to recreate Yasai Chilli Men at home before using their jarred sauces but something was lacking, this tasted much closer to it.

Have you tried to recreate a favourite dish from a restaurant? Were you successful?

4 responses to “Chilli Men Sauce

  1. I always try to recreate miso ramen from wagamamas and chicken itame :) this looks great!! I really struggle with tofu apparently the trick is to squeeze the excess water out of it before frying it but I think it might require more squeezing than I gave it! next time I might try to pop a wooden chopping board on it and leave it to drain for a bit

    • I tried squeezing it, but all I had were plates with ridges on – so it crumbled round the edges. I wish it came ready squeezed and in perfect squares like the wagamama’s stuff does.

      I think my next thing to try recreating is Katsu curry but I’m pretty certain the calories are going to break me!

    • I saw these in Sainsburys today actually, but thought they looked a little small to recreate the Wagamama’s dish. BUT they could stop me from pulling my hair out & burning my arm so this is obviously a good thing.

      Thank you for the Tip Mum xxx

Leave a Reply

