Rhubarb & Custard Creams

In my opinion there is nothing greater than a home-baked biscuit. It’s one of the nicest gifts to bring to someone, a box of little biscuits – one won’t push them over the edge like a cupcake could, there’s no pressure to finish them now so they can save some for later. One of my favourite biscuits has to be the Custard Cream but up until last summer I had never even thought about baking them myself. But last June Edd Kimber; winner of the first Great British Bake Off posted a Custard Cream recipe on his blog The Boy Who Bakes and I knew I had to try them out.

I first made them to take to Glastonbury and they went down a treat. So popular they have been regularly requested again by friends – I wanted to give them a twist before I shared them on my blog and I couldn’t resist turning them into Rhubarb & Custard Creams. They pretty much silenced a room when I tested them out on friends, so I reckon they are safe to share with you.

 Rhubarb Compote

500g / 1lb rhubarb – cut into small pieces
2 tbsp golden caster sugar
1 tsp honey
splash of water to stop the rhubarb from sticking

Custard Creams
makes 20-30 biscuits

225g / 8oz plain flour
50g / 1¾ oz custard powder
30g / 1oz icing sugar
175g / 6oz unsalted butter, chilled & diced
¼ tsp vanilla paste

60g / 2oz unsalted softened butter
300g / 10oz icing sugar
3 tbsp custard powder
4 tbsp rhubarb compote

This recipe for rhubarb compote makes more than what you’ll actually need, but I make this much so that I can eat it with porridge or greek yogurt or even on it’s own! It’s very easy to make, just pop all the ingredients in a saucepan and stew on a gentle heat until all the rhubarb has broken down and it has reduced slightly – this can take up to an hour.

In a bowl mix together the flour, custard powder & icing sugar. Add the butter & the vanilla paste and with your fingertips rub together until a dough forms. You don’t want to overwork the mixture BUT you don’t want it to be too crumbly – once the mixture comes together you may find it easier to break it in two and lightly knead each piece until it stops crumbling.

Wrap both pieces in clingfilm and chill for at least 30 minutes.

Roll out your dough between two pieces of clingfilm (or a well floured surface) to about 3-4mm in thickness. Cut out rounds about 3cm in diameter and dock them with a fork. I used a wibbly edged cutter and skewer to make holes around a central one.

Place on a lined baking tray and chill them in the fridge until you are ready to bake them, at least 15 minutes.

Preheat the oven to 180°c / 350°f / gas mark 4 and bake the biscuits for 10 minutes or until they have started to turn golden.

Cool on a wire rack.

To make the filling, beat the butter until light and fluffy – then add the icing sugar, custard powder and the rhubarb compote. Beat together until smooth but not runny.

Fill a piping bag with the rhubarb buttercream and pipe on to the inside of one of the biscuits and sandwich together with another. You will more than likely have some buttercream leftover, buttercream freezes really well.

Serve to friends on a beautiful sunny day in the park.

 

9 responses to “Rhubarb & Custard Creams

  1. Good god Ros! These look unreal! I must have one! I demand one to be posted to me!

    I am dribbling on my keyboard. You are amazing.

    • If I thought they’d survive the journey I so would – but I suspect they’d turn up to a mashed moosh of damp pink crumbs. And thank you for saying I’m amazing, you’re amazing. x

  2. They look gorgeous! Rhubarb and custards sweets were one of my childhood favourites – amazing idea to combine it into biscuit form!

  3. These look blooooooming lovely, I think you’re so right that biscuits are a fabulous gift, and much less intimidating than cakes. Beautiful photos too :-)

  4. Pingback: Melting Moment Biscuits | Roswensian·

  5. I’m adapting these to the low fodmaps diet. So far, so good. The last batch of biscuits are in the oven and I’ve tested rhe first lot out. Yum! Will let you know how they go down with the BBQ crowd tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

