How do you solve a problem like brown bananas?

I’ve done it again.

And it really wasn’t on purpose.

Honest.

I’ve let my bananas go brown. VERY brown.

But what do you do when you’ve already baked Banana Bread recently?

Well, firstly I tried Low-Fat Banana & Blueberry muffins from BBC Good Food. I wasn’t very impressed with these at all, they tasted bland and lifeless – even though I added some spice, vanilla & honey to them, still bland. Without eggs yolks or butter they were a sorry excuse for a cake. I’ve tried baking other low-fat cakes before, which all resulted in deliciousness but this really lacked something and not worth the 6 vital weight watchers points each one would use up.

So of course I could’ve then tried to make a full fat muffin but that’s been done before around these parts… so I thought perhaps Cookies.

What could go wrong with a Cookie? Nothing, even though I have managed to create a half cake, half biscuit hybrid. I realise that I’ve already used Banana, Peanut Butter and Chocolate together before and quite recently too but you can’t beat it. The flavours work so well together that it would be rude to ignore them.

Banana, Peanut Butter & Chocolate Cookies
makes between 10 & 20 (depending on size)

90g / 3oz crunchy peanut butter
180g / 6oz golden caster sugar
1 large egg
4 small (very) ripe bananas
1 tsp bicarbonate of soda
220g / 8oz plain flour
pinch of salt
½ tsp ground cinnamon
½ tsp ground nutmeg
100g / 3oz dark chocolate chunks

Preheat the oven to 180°c / 350°f  / gas mark 4

Mash the bananas and stir in the bicarbonate of soda, leave to one side. The soda and bananas react together and act as a raising agent.

Beat together the peanut butter and sugar – this looks rather like a crumble mix but do not fear. Add the egg and it all starts to make sense, then the banana mixture.

Sift in the flour, salt and spices and mix throughly, finally fold in the chocolate chunks.

Using an ice cream scoop dollop blobs of the mixture onto a lined baking tray and bake for 12 minutes.

Simples.

And if you are interested this is what the bland muffins looked like…

Shame really as they were quite pretty.

2 responses to “How do you solve a problem like brown bananas?

    • Hi, Thank you for loving my blog – Which biscuits are yours in the gallery? They all look amazing. Alas, I’m rubbish at icing – so it’s probably not for me. But thank you for thinking of me. :-)

Leave a Reply

