Great British Bake Off 2013 – Egg Custard Tarts

I have a confession to make.

I’m a terrible baker.

I was excited by the egg custard tart challenge, I love an egg custard tart, Bernie really loves an egg custard tart, I think we would happily live in a house made of custard tarts but alas when I attempted to bake them, I failed. That failure has led to more failure and at the moment I am feeling like I might never bake again.

It would seem that eggs are taking their revenge on me.

I could easily blame the recipe, I really should – alarm bells were ringing that the temperature of the oven seemed far too high. I read, re-read and read the recipe some more but it definitely said that temperature, so I trusted the words printed in a book and not my heart. That is why I feel like a baking failure, I didn’t trust my heart.

The custard boiled, it domed up too much, it sunk, it split. The pastry was soggy, they got stuck in the pan. They tasted alright but they looked a disaster. Straight to the bottom of the class.

I thought I’d redeem myself by making a fruit pie instead. But I couldn’t face more failure, so made a crumble with the ingredients and even that turned out soggy.

To make matters worse I’ve made Hollandaise twice this past weekend, for guests and both times – even though I have followed the same recipe to the letter that I have used many times before, it has been too thin. Tastes lovely but vanishes as soon as you pour it on top of the poached egg.

So there you go – the week four bake off technical challenge was too much for me. I have been sent home from the bake off tent.

I’m hoping this failing in self-confidence passes by quickly and normal service will resume shortly.

Egg Custard Tart

Take a look at all the non-failures on Bakers Anonymous – there are some beauts in there.

GBBOBakeAlong

5 responses to “Great British Bake Off 2013 – Egg Custard Tarts

    • I’m alright with regular pastry but as soon as sugar goes near it. BAM. Pastry death, it’s weird and I don’t like it.

      And thank you, you are too kind with nice words x

Leave a Reply

