Rocky Road Easter Nests

Easter isn’t Easter without Chocolate Nests topped with Mini Eggs.

It’s the way it’s always been and always will be until the Easter bunny is proved a fake.

Not wanting to repeat everyone else in the blogging world I’ve given them a slight Rocky Road(ish) twist.

As simple as these might be, it didn’t stop me from wasting 800g of Dairy Milk chocolate. First off I suffered from impatience, impatience and chocolate DO NOT MIX. Bored with waiting I increased the temperature and if that wasn’t enough my bowl didn’t fit my saucepan so steam was escaping – water & chocolate DO NOT MIX.

My next attempt I tried to be clever and added the butter & golden syrup after the chocolate had melted. Both of these tricks left me with instantly solid grainy blah chocolate – not nice.

My third attempt was performed at 11pm with a Gin & Tonic. I decided that I didn’t need to add the butter & golden syrup (I’d referenced a BBC recipe) So just melted the chocolate by itself on a very low heat and it worked.

Lovely nostalgic nests that are a little bit nutty, a little bit chewy and a little bit fruity.

Rocky Road Easter Nests
makes about 19 muffin sized nests

300g / 10z crunchy nut clusters
450g / 1lb milk chocolate
60g / 2oz mini marshmallows
60g / 2oz glace cherries
57 Cadbury’s mini eggs

Line 2 12 hole muffin trays with 19 muffin cases.

Break the chocolate into a heatproof bowl and set over a saucepan of water. Make sure the water isn’t touching the base of the bowl, melt the chocolate on a very low heat.

With your hands break the crunchy nut clusters into a bowl, don’t crush them fully – you just want to separate the clusters. Add the marshmallows and cherries and mix together.

Once the chocolate has melted, let it cool (a tiny bit) and then pour over the crunchy nut/marshmallow/cherry mixture and stir until all covered. Spoon into the prepared muffin cases, top with 3 Cadbury’s mini eggs and place in the fridge for at least an hour.

Serve on sunny spring days, rainy spring days or snowy spring days.

Leave a Reply

